2014-10-02 11:58:45

Dussehrra or Vijayadashami is celebration of good over evil. Ram conquered Ravana. The ten heads of Ravana depict:

1) kama vasana (lust)
2) krodh (anger)
3) moha (attachment)
4) lobha (greed)
5) mada (pride)
6) matsara (jealousy)
7) swartha (selfishness)
8) anyaya (injustice)
9) amanavta (cruelty)
10) ahankara (ego)
People perform yagya with maha surya mantras to rid homes of negative energies. There is also a belief that whenever there is chaos, God willl appear as saviour to protect his devotees.
The nine days of Navratri are essentially about feminine divinity. These nine days are classified as per the three basic qualities of tamas - first three days where the goddess is fierce like Durga and Kali.The next three days are dedicated to Lakshmi - gentle but materially inclined hence rajasic. The last three days are dedicated to Saraswati-sattva-knowledge and enlightenment.
After navratri, the tenth and final day is Vijayadashami, meaning you have conquered all the three qualities. You did not give in to any of them, you participated in all of them but did not dwell on any of them; you WON over them...
that is Vijayadashami - the day of victory.
This brings home the message that being in reverence and gratitude leads to success and victory.
Of the many things that we are in touch with, of the many things that contribute in making and creating our lives, the most important devices that we employ our  own body and mind.
Being in reverence towardss the very EARTH that you walk upon, towards the AIR that you breathe, the WATER that you drink, the FOOD that you eat, the people that you come in touch with and everything else that you use, including your body and mind will change our perception of life altogether.
Being in a state of reverence and devotion towards all these aspects is a way of ensuring success in every endeavour that we partake.
Hence Dussehra should be celebrated with total awareness, involvement, joy and love.